National Student Executive

[span_header]Your National Student Executive (NSE) 2016 – 2017

[/span_header][span_header format=”h3″]Working for you. Representing, connecting and giving students a voice.


The National Student Executive (NSE) are the nationally elected student officers who maintain the work of the ISSU on a daily and international basis. They represent, work and liaise with relevant Education bodies, and other Youth Organisations both in Ireland and abroad.

The NSE take office on the 1st May 2016. You can contact individual officers using their

President - Jane M.Hayes Nally

Jane is a 17 year old Transition year student in St. Mary’s High School Midleton, Co. Cork. Jane has a keen interest in education and believes that second-level school consists of so much more than studying. She has many hobbies ranging from golf and running, speech and drama, being involved with Comhairle Na nÓg and debating. Since a young age Jane has loved current affairs and politics. She believes that education can completely change and shape lives, and this is something that will drive her work as President this year.


Deputy President - Cárthach Ó Faoláin

Cárthach is a sixth year student in Meánscoil San Nicoclás, Rinn O Gcuanach, Co. Phort Láirge.


Education Officer -Glen Kiely

I am a 6th year student of St. Munchins’ College, Limerick. I am passionate about education and learning, student voice, photography and fitness. I was appointed as Education Officer in August, with the hope that I could address the problems facing second-level education in Ireland today. I ran for this position because I felt that, with the ISSU, I could be an advocate for students and our education! During my term in office, I hope to confront various issues. I will be undergoing meetings with education spokespersons, and publishing my, and the ISSU’s, thoughts on relevant matters. I hope to further student’s stance in their own education. That’s it from me, Glen.


Welfare and Equality Officer - Joe Mee

Joe is a 3rd year student in Scoil Ruain, Killenaule, Thurles. Co. Tipperary.


International Officer - Ellen O'Rourke

Ellen is a 6th year student in St.Louis High School, Charleville Road, Rathmines. Dublin 6


Oifigeach na Gaeilge (Irish Language Officer) - Liam Morris

Liam is a 6th year student in Coláiste Ghobnatan, Baile Mhic ire, Co. Chorcaí.


Campaigns and Communications Officer - Chloe Griffin

Chloe is a third year student in Scoil Ruain, Thurles, Co Tipperary. Chloe plays football, basketball and enjoys cycling, she also plays guitar and she is the secretary of her school’s student council. Chloe’s main goal is to develop stronger links of communication between the ISSU and our members via social media and exciting campaigns. She is passionate about the well being of students and with this Chloe hopes to hold an event in February of 2017 that would be dedicated to positive mental health. ( She also would like for the NSE to receive safeTALK training which would enable us to talk about the topic in schools). Chloe hopes to produce the monthly newsletter and encourage our members engagement with it. She also hopes to continue to work with slingshot academy to inform students on the prospects of third level education. Chloe wishes to increase the number of counties reached with regional councils. And, to increase membership and promoting the iconnect card are among her intentions for the coming year!


National Student Executive Secretary - Philip Crowe


Student Council Support Officer - Kate Lehane

Kate is a 3rd year student in Malahide Community School, Broomfield, Malahide. Co. Dublin


Honorary President - Rob O'Donnell