AGM 2012


Election Results Declared @ 4.10pm

Secretary: Ann Marie Burns, St. Anne’s Secondary School
Education: Brendan Power, CBS Callan
Equality: Mark Caffrey, Ratoath College
Student Council Support: Claire Stone, Mercy College Galway
Oifigeach na Gaelige: David Minihane, Cólaiste an Spioráid Naomha, Cork
PRO: Nathan O’Connor, CBS Wexford
International: Asha Aisling Doris, Confey College
Welfare Officer: Emmett Clarke, CBS Callan
Deputy President: Gerrard Quinn,  Mount Mellick Community College
President: Dylan Grace, Gaelcoláiste Luiminigh

Leanne Caulfield was returned as Honorary President

James Doorley, returning officer deemed the aforementioned duly allocated at 4.1opm


The ISSU Annual General Meeting took place on the 4th of April 2012. The venue this year is the Clocktower in the Department of Education & Skills, Marlborough Street, Dublin 1.

Delegates from second-level schools around Ireland were in attendance to witness the election of the new 10 member National Student Executive and to air their views on all of the motions and recommendations put to them throughout the day. The event was chaired by Senator, Jillian Van Turnhout and election proceedings were overseen by James Doorley, Assistant Director of the National Youth Council of Ireland. Sally-Anne Kinihan, ICTU and Anne Looney, NCCA both made insightful presentations to the delgation. Minister Ruairi Quinn delivered the Keynote address, urging ISSU to mainain it’s foucs on earning a right to become an equal partner in education.

The ISSU AGM is a forum for student voice and provides an opportunity for second-level school students from around Ireland to meet and discuss issues and concerns that are important to them and their schools . Students who attend the AGM will get the chance to voice their opinions, create motions during a formal parliamentary style process and nominate themselves for a position on the National Student Executive members for 2012-2013.




Full AGM Programme

Workplan 2012-2013